back

Sumatra

Our Commitment

Zurich Zoo supports PanEco in its efforts to preserve the last remaining connected peat swamps on the coast of Aceh in northern Sumatra. These peat swamp forests are home to more orangutans per square kilometre than anywhere else in the world. We also support the running of the quarantine and care centre at Batu Mbelin in the region of Gunung Leuser National Park, which takes in orphaned, confiscated and injured orangutans. In northern Sumatra, there is a station that releases rehabilitated orangutans back into the rainforest in Jantho Nature Reserve.

Conservation in Practice

PanEco, a Swiss foundation, together with its partners of the Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme SOCP, is committed to protecting orangutans in many different ways. PanEco works for the release and resettlement of illegally captured orangutans and those kept as pets. Its partner SOCP operates a quarantine station where confiscated animals receive medical care and are prepared for their release and return to a life of freedom. PanEco further supports research into the orangutans' habits and protection of their habitat and does environmental education and publicity work in Indonesia to raise awareness of the needs of great apes.

Challenges

The orangutans live in the rainforests of Borneo and Sumatra. Their survival in their natural habitat is seriously endangered. Every year, rainforest areas the size of Switzerland fall victim to legal and illegal tree felling, driven by the increasing demand for palm oil. Palm oil is contained in a great many everyday products, including ready meals, confectionery, washing detergents and cosmetics. Over the last 75 years, the orangutan population has fallen by more than 80%. Because they reproduce very slowly, these great apes cannot maintain a viable population. Today, less than 7,000 orangutans live on Sumatra.

PanEco and Zurich Zoo's work to protect the orangutan is concentrated in the areas near Gunung Leuser National Park, a region also known as the Leuser Ecosystem. The main objective is to conserve the rainforests as a habitat for the orangutans. These forests also facilitate tremendously important ecosystem benefits for the local population such as protection from erosion, floods and high tides caused by storms, as well as keeping water safe for drinking.

Junger Orang-Utan in der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin
A youngster learns how to be an indepent orangutan in the quarantine station Batu Mbelin.
Veterinärstation in der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin in Sumatra
The quarantine station Batu Mbelin offers highly specialised medical treatment to the orangutans.

Research conducted by PanEco and SOCP has revealed that new palm oil plantations can also be cultivated on previously cleared, underused areas. Therefore, it should not be necessary to clear primary forest to meet the current demand for palm oil. PanEco was a founding member of the Round Table for Sustainable Palmoil RSPO, which promotes and monitors sustainable palm oil production and whose members include both major producers and distributors of palm oil and conservation organisations.

Plantagen und Regenwald in Sumatra
Dramatic contrast: rainforest vs. plantations.
Dr. Martin Bauer, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich
Dr. Ian Singleton, Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme SOCP, PanEco: Dr. Ian Singleton, Biologist and former orangutan keeper at Jersey Zoo, has run SOCP since the project began in 2001. He has worked with apes for over 25 years. His scientific work and his commitment to the protection of Sumatran orangutans have gained global prestige.
Dr. Martin Bauer, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich
Dr. Martin Bauert, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich: director of the Zoo Biology department and is in charge of nature conservation projects at Zoo Zürich. He maintains close communication links with those working on the project in Sumatra. He is Vice President of the specialist Swiss commission for the interests of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

retour

Sumatra

NOtre Engagement

Le Zoo de Zurich soutient le projet de la fondation PanEco visant à préserver les dernières forêts pluviales d'un seul tenant sur la côte d'Aceh, au nord de Sumatra. Ces forêts de tourbières marécageuses abritent la plus grande concentration d'orangs-outans au monde. Le zoo de Zurich apporte également son aide au refuge de Batu Mbelin, situé dans la région du parc national de Gunung Leuser, un sanctuaire qui accueille des orangs-outans orphelins, confisqués ou blessés. La province de Sumatra Nord comprend également un centre de réintroduction, qui relâche les orangs-outans dans la forêt tropicale humide de la réserve naturelle de Jantho après leur revalidation.

Protection ConcrèTe

La fondation PanEco, dont le siège est situé en Suisse, s'investit de différentes façons, avec ses partenaires du Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme SOCP, dans la protection des orangs-outans. La PanEco s'engage pour la réintroduction dans la nature d’orangs-outans détenus illégalement ou en tant qu'animaux domestiques. Le SOCP gère à cet effet un centre de quarantaine, dans lequel les animaux saisis bénéficient d'un suivi médical avant d'être préparés, au centre de réintroduction, à leur retour à la vie sauvage. La PanEco soutient en outre la recherche sur le mode de vie des orangs-outans et la protection de leur habitat, tandis qu'une formation environnementale et un travail de relations publiques permettent de sensibiliser la population locale aux besoins des anthropoïdes.

Les Défis

Les orangs-outans vivent dans les forêts pluviales de Bornéo et de Sumatra. Leur survie dans leur espace vital est toutefois fortement menacée. Chaque année, ce sont en effet des zones de forêt pluviale de la taille de la Suisse qui sont détruites, en raison du défrichement légal et illégal. A l'origine de cette déforestation, la demande sans cesse croissante en huile de palme, un ingrédient que l'on retrouve dans de nombreux produits du quotidien: plats préparés, confiseries, lessives, cosmétiques et bien d'autres encore. Au cours des 75 dernières années, les populations d'orangs-outans ont diminué de plus de 80 pour cent. Et comme ces primates se reproduisent très lentement, ces pertes ne peuvent être compensées. Aujourd'hui, moins de 7000 orangs-outans sont recensés à Sumatra.

L'engagement de la PanEco et du Zoo de Zurich en faveur de la protection des orangs-outans se concentre sur l'environnement du parc national de Gunung Leuser. Cette région porte également le nom d'écosystème de Leuser. L'objectif principal consiste à protéger les forêts pluviales en tant que biotope des orangs-outans. Mais ces forêts ne constituent pas uniquement l'habitat des grands singes; elles offrent également un ensemble de services écologiques cruciaux à la population locale, comme la protection contre les raz-de-marée, l'érosion ou les inondations, tout en lui assurant un approvisionnement en eau potable.

Junger Orang-Utan in der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin
Un jeune orang-utan dans la station de quarantaine Batu Mbelin.
Veterinärstation in der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin in Sumatra
La station médicale de Batu Mbelin.

La PanEco et son partenaire le SOCP ont pu démontrer par leurs travaux de recherche que de nouvelles plantations de palmiers à huile pouvaient aussi être établies sur des terrains déjà défrichés et inemployés. Il ne serait donc pas indispensable de continuer à raser la forêt primaire pour répondre à la demande actuelle en huile de palme. La PanEco était un membre fondateur de la Round Table for Sustainable Palmoil RSPO, qui favorise et contrôle la production durable d'huile de palme. La RSPO regroupe les principaux producteurs et négociants ainsi que les organisations de protection de la nature.

Plantagen und Regenwald in Sumatra
Des plantations de palmiers à huile.
Dr. Martin Bauer, conservateur en chef du Zoo de Zurich
Dr. Ian Singleton, Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme SOCP, PanEco: Le Dr. Ian Singleton, biologiste et ancien gardien d’Orang-Outan dans le zoo de Jarsey dirige depuis le début du projet en 2001 le SOCP. Il travaille depuis plus de 25 ans avec des grands singes. Ses travaux scientifiques et son apport à la protection de l’orang-outan de Sumatra juissent d’une notoriété mondiale.
Dr. Martin Bauer, conservateur en chef du Zoo de Zurich
Dr. Martin Bauert, Conservateur principal  du Zoo de Zürich : Dirige le Département  zoobiologie et est le principal responsable f du projet écologique du Zoo de Zurich. Il travaille en étroite collaboration avec les responsables du projet à Lewa. Il est Vice-président de la Commission pour les affaires relatives à la Convention de Washington sur la conservation des espèces (CITES).