back

Kaeng Krachan

Our Commitment

Cooperating closely with the Wildlife Conservation Society WCS, Zurich Zoo supports Kaeng Krachan National Park in Thailand as it protects the animals living there. At the heart of our commitment is the aim of defusing the conflict between humans and elephants. In addition to protective fences, which prevent the elephants intruding into populated areas, an information centre has been set up to make school classes and local visitors more aware of nature conservation. Additionally, we support the gamekeepers at Kaeng Krachan National Park in the fight against poachers by funding equipment and training courses.

conservation in practice

Covering an area of almost 3,000 square kilometres, Kaeng Krachan National Park is the largest conservation area in Thailand. Almost 200 wild elephants live in the park. Kaeng Krachan National Park and other conservation areas in the north incorporate the largest and most species-rich forest areas in the whole of South-East Asia. By setting up wild animal corridors in association with other conservation areas, the national park will help preserve the elephants' traditional migration routes over the long term and preserve tigers, gibbons, tapirs and other endangered animal and plant species.

Challenges

Asian elephants were originally distributed from Syria to China, as well as in Sri Lanka, Sumatra and Borneo. Today, the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) estimates that the survival of these elephants in the wild is critically endangered. In some regions of South-East Asia, the species is on the verge of extinction. In Thailand, the population in the wild is estimated at about 3,000 animals. Several factors exert pressure on the population levels. Not only are the bulls targeted by poachers because of their tusks, but the elephants’ habitat is fast disappearing due to logging and the expansion of agricultural cultivation.

Agriculture is destroying the traditional feeding grounds and migration routes of wild elephants in many places. The animals therefore cause severe damage to plantations, houses and cattle on their migrations. This leads to conflicts that can be significantly reduced by protective fences and sentry posts. Alarmed fences have been erected along the border of the national park. If the elephants break through these fences, a loud alarm sounds and the warning light flashes, and the sentry guards drive the elephants back into the forest. The limited length of the fence means that the animals can continue their migration after a detour. In some regions, conflicts have been reduced by up to 90%.

Alarmzaun zur Entschärfung des Human-Elephant-Conflicts
Protective fences help to significantly reduce conflicts between farmers and elephants.

A 75-kilometre migratory corridor has been designed to give the elephants from Kaeng Krachan National Park a safe route to conservation areas in northern Thailand. Zurich Zoo, in close cooperation with the Wildlife Conservation Society WCS, supports the park's gamekeepers in their fight against poachers, deforestation and illegal use of the land.

Ranger des Kaeng Krachan Nationalparks
Rangers work hard to protect Kaeng Krachan Nationalpark and it's wildlife.
Manoon Pliosungnoen, WCS Thailand
Manoon Pliosungnoen, WCS Thailand: Environmental Scientist Manoon Pliosungnoen has worked for the Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) Thailand since 2009 as a Project Manager in the Kaeng Krachan Forest Complex.
Dr. Martin Bauer, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich
Dr. Martin Bauert, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich: director of the Zoo Biology department and is in charge of nature conservation projects at Zoo Zürich. He maintains close communication links with those working on the project in Thailand. He is Vice President of the specialist Swiss commission for the interests of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

retour

Kaeng Krachan

Notre Engagement

Le Zoo de Zurich soutient le parc national de Kaeng Krachan en Thaïlande, qui protège les éléphants en étroite collaboration avec la Wildlife Conservation Society WCS. Cet engagement vise à désamorcer le conflit entre l'homme et l'éléphant. En plus des clôtures de protection qui empêchent les éléphants de pénétrer dans des zones habitées, un centre d'information a été construit en vue de sensibiliser les enfants des écoles et la population à la protection de la nature. En outre, le Zoo de Zurich soutient les gardes-chasses du parc national de Kaeng Krachan dans leur lutte contre le braconnage en finançant leur équipement et leur formation.

Protection Concrète

Avec ses quelque 3000 kilomètres carrés, le parc national de Kaeng Krachan est la plus grande réserve de Thaïlande. Il abrite environ 200 éléphants sauvages. Ce parc et d'autres réserves au nord englobent les zones forestières les plus étendues et à la biodiversité la plus riche de tout le sud-est asiatique. L'objectif est de créer des corridors reliant d'autres réserves afin de protéger durablement les routes de migration traditionnelles des éléphants ainsi que les tigres, gibbons, tapirs et autres espèces d'animaux et de plantes menacées.  

Les Défis

Originellement, l'habitat de l'éléphant d'Asie s'étendait jusqu'à la Chine et englobait le Sri Lanka, Sumatra et Bornéo. Aujourd'hui, l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature UICN considère que l'existence de ces éléphants à l'état sauvage est fortement menacée. Dans certaines régions d'Asie du sud-est, cette espèce est menacée d'extinction. En Thaïlande, on estime à 3000 le nombre d'éléphants vivant à l'état sauvage. Plusieurs facteurs menacent les populations. D'une part, les pachydermes sont la cible des braconniers pour l'ivoire de leurs défenses. D'autre part, leur habitat ne cesse de régresser en raison de la déforestation et de l'extension des cultures agricoles.

Les cultures agricoles détruisent les lieux d'alimentation et les routes de migration traditionnels des éléphants sauvages. Dans leurs migrations, les animaux occasionnent de gros dommages aux plantations, aux maisons et aux élevages. Il en résulte des conflits qui peuvent être nettement apaisés par des clôtures de protection et des postes de garde. Des clôtures sous alarme sont donc installées sur le pourtour du parc national. Si les éléphants les brisent, une alarme acoustique et lumineuse se déclenche. Les postes de garde repoussent ensuite les pachydermes dans la forêt. La longueur limitée de la clôture permet aux animaux de reprendre leur migration après un détour. Dans certaines régions, on a ainsi pu réduire les conflits de 90 pour cent.

Alarmzaun zur Entschärfung des Human-Elephant-Conflicts
Clôture sous alarme.

Un couloir de migration de 75 kilomètres de long vise à permettre aux éléphants du parc national de Kaeng Krachan de migrer en toute sécurité dans les réserves situées au nord. En étroite collaboration avec la Wildlife Conservation Society WCS, le Zoo de Zurich aide les gardes-chasses du parc à lutter contre le braconnage, la déforestation et l'exploitation illégale des terres.

Ranger des Kaeng Krachan Nationalparks
Gardes-chasses du parc national de Kaeng Krachan.
Dr. Petra Lahann, WCS Madagaskar
Manoon Pliosungnoen, WCS Thailand: Le scientifique environnementaliste Manoon Pliosungnoen travaille depuis 2009 pour la Wildlife Conservation Society WCS Thaïlande en tant que Chef de projet dans le Complexe forestier Kaeng Krachan.
Dr. Martin Bauer, conservateur en chef du Zoo de Zurich
Dr. Martin Bauert, Conservateur principal du Zoo de Zürich : Dirige le Département zoobiologie et est le principal responsable du projet écologique du Zoo de Zurich Il travaille en étroite collaboration avec les responsables du projet en Thaïlande. Il est Vice-président de la Commission pour les affaires relatives à la Convention de Washington sur la conservation des espèces (CITES).