back

Australian Ark

OUR COMMITMENT

Zoo Zurich is committed to the protection of the Tasmanian devil. Nowadays, the animal lives only in breeding centres and zoos on the Australian mainland. Zoo Zurich supports the Tasmanian devil breeding programme at its Australian conservation partner Australian Reptile Park.

The Tasmanian devil is a representative of the dasyuridae family. The animal lives alone in abandoned ground ditches or caves, and forages for food at night. They hunt but mostly they prefer to feed on carrion. They devour the whole of the animal, including its fur. Their diet includes small mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. Their weight reaching eight kilos, the Tasmanian devil is the largest carnivorous marsupial in Australia.

CONSERVATION IN PRACTICE

Every year Zoo Zürich makes a substantial financial contribution to the conservation of the Tasmanian devil. In addition to the Tasmanian devil, five more endangered marsupial species are bred at the Australian Ark breeding centre: Brown Bandicoot, Eastern quoll, Eastern bettong, Long-nosed Potoroo and Parma wallaby. The aim of the breeding effort is to re-introduce the species into the wild in the long-term.

CHALLENGES

Tasmanian devils are only found in Tasmania nowadays. In mainland Australia, they are extinct. The animal has been protected since 1941.

In 1996, a new type of cancer spreading among wild Tasmanian devils was identified. It affects the animal’s face. The tumours grow and prevent the animals from feeding normally. In later stages of the disease, after about a year, the animals starve to death. The cancer is spreading rapidly. In some areas of Tasmania, the wild population has completely collapsed. It is assumed that cancer cells are transmitted within the population through infected saliva. It usually happens during fights over food or females, when the animals bite each other.

The Australian Ark is a 500-hectare breeding station, located 1,400 metres above sea level in the Barrington Tops Mountains. In this area, the Tasmanian devil has been extinct for 3,000 years. The climate and the terrain are perfect. This station has been operating since 2011, and the breeding programme has so far been a success. In addition to two breeding stations in Tasmania, several zoos in mainland Australia are also taking part in the programme.

Junger Beutelteufel.
90% of the wild Tasmanian devils have disappeared. The breeding programme is their last chance.
Tim Faulkner, Leiter Australian Reptile Park.
Tim Faulkner, Director Australian Reptile Park: Tim Faulkner is the director of the Australian Reptile Park near Sydney. He also manages the breeding centre to save the Tasmanian devil. Tim Faulkner was nominated Naturalist of the Year in 2015 by the Australian Geographic Society.
Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, Zoo Zürich.
Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, Curator Zoo Zurich: Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, a biologist specialising in primates, is a curator of Zoo Zurich and manages the Great Apes & Australia exhibits and is responsible for the Australian Ark conservation project.

retour

Australian Ark

Notre Engagement

Le Zoo de Zurich s'engage à protéger le Diable de Tasmanie. Il a complètement disparu d’Australie continentale et ne vit aujourd'hui que dans des centres d'élevage et des zoos. Le Zoo de Zurich soutient l'élevage du Diable de Tasmanie que mène l’Australian Reptile Park, notre partenaire australien de protection de l’environnement.

Le Diable de Tasmanie est un membre de la famille des Dasyuridae. Il vit en solitaire dans des terriers ou des trous abandonnés et part à la recherche de nourriture la nuit. Même s’il aime chasser, il préfère se nourrir de charogne. Et lorsqu’il le fait, il dévore tout l'animal, fourrure incluse. Son spectre alimentaire comprend des petits mammifères, des oiseaux, des reptiles et des amphibiens. Avec un poids de huit kilogrammes, le Diable de Tasmanie est le plus grand marsupial carnivore d’Australie.

Protection Concrète

Chaque année, le Zoo de Zurich participe apporte un soutien financière important au projet de conservation du Diable de Tasmanie. En plus du Diable de Tasmanie, cinq autres espèces de marsupiaux en voie d’extinction sont élevées au centre d'élevage Australian Ark : Le Bandicoot brun du Sud, le Chat marsupial moucheté, le Bettongie de Tasmanie, le Potoroo à long nez et le Wallaby de Parma. L’objectif de tous ces élevages est de réintroduire à long terme les animaux dans leur habitat naturel.

Les Défis

De nos jours, la Tasmanie est le seul endroit où on peut encore trouver des Diables de Tasmanie. En Australie continentale, ils sont éteints. Le Diable de Tasmanie est classé comme espèce protégée depuis 1941.

Pour la première fois en 1996, une nouvelle forme de cancer a été détectée sur un Diable de Tasmanie vivant à l’état sauvage. La maladie affecte le visage des animaux. Les tumeurs se développent et empêchent les animaux de manger. En phase terminale, environ un an après que la maladie se soit déclarée, les animaux meurent de faim. La maladie se propage très rapidement. Dans certaines régions de Tasmanie, la population de Diables de Tasmanie a fortement chuté. Il se pourrait que les cellules cancéreuses se transmettent entre congénères via la salive. Cela se produit généralement lorsque les animaux se disputent pour de la nourriture ou lorsqu’ils s’accouplent et se mordent l’un l’autre.

Australian Ark est un centre d'élevage de 500 hectares situé à 1400 mètres d'altitude dans les montagnes du Barrington Tops. Le diable de Tasmanie a disparu de cette région depuis 3000 ans. Le climat et le terrain s’y prêtent parfaitement. Le centre fonctionne depuis 2011 et l'élevage s’est déjà avéré être une réussite. En plus de deux centres d'élevage en Tasmanie, plusieurs zoos situés en Australie continentale participent également au programme.

Junger Beutelteufel.
90 % des démons des diables de Tasmanie ont disparu. L'élevage est leur seul salut.
Tim Faulkner, Leiter Australian Reptile Park.
Tim Faulkner, Directeur de l’Australian Reptile Park: Tim Faulkner est le directeur de l’Australian Reptile Park situé près de Sydney. Il gère également le centre d'élevage qui vise à sauver le Diable de Tasmanie. Tim Faulkner a été nommé Protecteur de l’environnement de l'année 2015 par l'Australian Geographic Society.
Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, Zoo Zürich.
Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, Curateur Zoo Zurich: Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, biologiste spécialisée dans les primates, est curateur du Zoo de Zurich et gère le pavillon des singes anthropoides et le pavillon de l'Australie. Elle est aussi responsable de projet de conservation Australian Ark.