back

Sumatra

Our Commitment

Zurich Zoo supports PanEco in its efforts to preserve the last remaining connected peat swamps on the coast of Aceh in northern Sumatra. These peat swamp forests are home to more orangutans per square kilometre than anywhere else in the world. We also support the running of the quarantine and care centre at Batu Mbelin in the region of Gunung Leuser National Park, which takes in orphaned, confiscated and injured orangutans. In northern Sumatra, there is a station that releases rehabilitated orangutans back into the rainforest in Jantho Nature Reserve.

Conservation in Practice

PanEco, a Swiss foundation, together with its partners of the Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme SOCP, is committed to protecting orangutans in many different ways. PanEco works for the release and resettlement of illegally captured orangutans and those kept as pets. Its partner SOCP operates a quarantine station where confiscated animals receive medical care and are prepared for their release and return to a life of freedom. PanEco further supports research into the orangutans' habits and protection of their habitat and does environmental education and publicity work in Indonesia to raise awareness of the needs of great apes.

Challenges

The orangutans live in the rainforests of Borneo and Sumatra. Their survival in their natural habitat is seriously endangered. Every year, rainforest areas the size of Switzerland fall victim to legal and illegal tree felling, driven by the increasing demand for palm oil. Palm oil is contained in a great many everyday products, including ready meals, confectionery, washing detergents and cosmetics. Over the last 75 years, the orangutan population has fallen by more than 80%. Because they reproduce very slowly, these great apes cannot maintain a viable population. Today, less than 7,000 orangutans live on Sumatra.

PanEco and Zurich Zoo's work to protect the orangutan is concentrated in the areas near Gunung Leuser National Park, a region also known as the Leuser Ecosystem. The main objective is to conserve the rainforests as a habitat for the orangutans. These forests also facilitate tremendously important ecosystem benefits for the local population such as protection from erosion, floods and high tides caused by storms, as well as keeping water safe for drinking.

Junger Orang-Utan in der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin
A youngster learns how to be an indepent orangutan in the quarantine station Batu Mbelin.
Veterinärstation in der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin in Sumatra
The quarantine station Batu Mbelin offers highly specialised medical treatment to the orangutans.

Research conducted by PanEco and SOCP has revealed that new palm oil plantations can also be cultivated on previously cleared, underused areas. Therefore, it should not be necessary to clear primary forest to meet the current demand for palm oil. PanEco was a founding member of the Round Table for Sustainable Palmoil RSPO, which promotes and monitors sustainable palm oil production and whose members include both major producers and distributors of palm oil and conservation organisations.

Plantagen und Regenwald in Sumatra
Dramatic contrast: rainforest vs. plantations.
Dr. Martin Bauer, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich
Dr. Ian Singleton, Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme SOCP, PanEco: Dr. Ian Singleton, Biologist and former orangutan keeper at Jersey Zoo, has run SOCP since the project began in 2001. He has worked with apes for over 25 years. His scientific work and his commitment to the protection of Sumatran orangutans have gained global prestige.
Dr. Martin Bauer, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich
Dr. Martin Bauert, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich: director of the Zoo Biology department and is in charge of nature conservation projects at Zoo Zürich. He maintains close communication links with those working on the project in Sumatra. He is Vice President of the specialist Swiss commission for the interests of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

zurück

Sumatra

Unser Engagement

Der Zoo Zürich unterstützt PanEco in ihrem Engagement, die letzten zusammenhängenden Sumpfregenwälder an der Küste von Aceh im Norden Sumatras zu erhalten. Diese Torfsumpfwälder weisen weltweit die grösste Dichte an Orang-Utans auf. Zudem unterstützt der Zoo Zürich den Betrieb der Auffangstation in Batu Mbelin in der Region des Gunung Leuser Nationalparks, wo verwaiste, konfiszierte oder verletzte Orang-Utans aufgenommen werden. In Nord-Sumatra wird eine Auswilderungsstation betrieben, wo Orang-Utans nach ihrer Rehabilitierung wieder in den Regenwald des Jantho Naturreservates freigelassen werden.

Naturschutz Konkret

Die Stiftung PanEco mit Sitz in der Schweiz setzt sich mit ihren Partnern des Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme SOCP in vielfältiger Weise für den Schutz der Orang-Utans ein. PanEco engagiert sich für die Wiederansiedlung von illegal gefangenen oder als Haustiere gehaltenen Orang-Utans. Dazu betreibt die SOCP eine Quarantänestation, in der beschlagnahmte Tiere medizinisch versorgt werden, bevor sie in der Auswilderungsstation auf ihr Leben in Freiheit vorbereitet werden. Weiter unterstützt PanEco die Erforschung der Lebensweise der Orang-Utans und den Schutz ihres Lebensraumes. Mithilfe von Umweltbildung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit wird die lokale Bevölkerung für die Bedürfnisse der Menschenaffen sensibilisiert.

Herausforderungen

Die Orang-Utans leben in den Regenwäldern von Borneo und Sumatra. Der Fortbestand in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum ist jedoch stark gefährdet. Denn jedes Jahr fallen Regenwaldgebiete so gross wie die Schweiz der legalen und illegalen Rodung zum Opfer. Der Treiber dieser Rodungen ist die immer grösser werdende Nachfrage an Palmöl. Denn Palmöl steckt in vielen Alltagsprodukten: in Fertigmenüs, Süsswaren, Waschmitteln, Kosmetikprodukten und vielem mehr. In den letzten 75 Jahren nahm der Bestand an Orang-Utans um über 80 Prozent ab. Die sich sehr langsam vermehrenden Menschenaffen können diese Verluste nicht ausgleichen. Heute leben auf Sumatra weniger als 7000 Orang-Utans.

Einblick in die Regenwaldschule für Orang-Utans in der Auffangstation in Batu Mbelin.

Ausgewilderte Orang-Utans im Naturreservat Jantho.

Das Engagement von PanEco und dem Zoo Zürich zum Schutz der Orang-Utans konzentriert sich in der Umgebung des Gunung Leuser Nationalparks. Diese Region wird auch als Leuser Ökosystem bezeichnet. Das Hauptziel ist, die Regenwälder als Lebensraum für die Orang-Utans zu erhalten. Diese Wälder sind nicht nur Lebensraum der Orang-Utans. Sie erbringen auch enorm wichtige Ökosystemdienstleistungen für die lokale Bevölkerung wie Schutz vor Sturmfluten, Erosion und Überschwemmungen und sichern sauberes Trinkwasser.

Junger Orang-Utan in der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin
In der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin lernen die Tiere das Einmaleins des Affenlebens: geschickt zu klettern, Futter zu suchen und den Bau von Schlafnestern.
Veterinärstation in der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin in Sumatra
Die medizinische Versorgung der Orang-Utans in der Quarantänestation Batu Mbelin ist hochspezialisiert.

PanEco und ihr Partner SOCP konnten in ihren Forschungsarbeiten aufzeigen, dass neue Palmölplantagen auch auf bereits gerodeten, brachliegenden Flächen angepflanzt werden können. Es wäre also nicht nötig, Primärwald zu roden, um die aktuelle Nachfrage nach Palmöl zu decken. PanEco war zudem Gründungsmitglied des Round Table for Sustainable Palmoil RSPO, der mit dem Zweck geschaffen wurde, die nachhaltige Palmölproduktion zu fördern und zu überwachen. Im RSPO sind wichtige Produzenten, Händler und Naturschutzorganisationen zusammengeschlossen. 2016 ist PanEco als Mitglied des RSPO zurückgetreten (zur Medienmitteilung PanEco).

Plantagen und Regenwald in Sumatra
Drastischer Kontrast: Regenwald und Plantagen.
Dr. Martin Bauer, Leitender Kurator Zoo Zürich
Dr. Ian Singleton, Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme SOCP, PanEco: Dr. Ian Singleton, Biologe und ehemaliger Orang-Utan-Tierpfleger im Jersey Zoo, leitet seit Projektbeginn im 2001 die SOCP. Er arbeitet seit über 25 Jahren mit Menschenaffen. Seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten und sein Einsatz für den Schutz des Sumatranischen Orang-Utans geniessen weltweites Ansehen.
Dr. Martin Bauer, Leitender Kurator Zoo Zürich
Dr. Martin Bauert, Leitender Kurator Zoo Zürich: Führt den Bereich Naturschutz & Tiere und ist hauptverantwortlich für die Naturschutzprojekte des Zoo Zürich. Er pflegt einen engen Austausch mit den Projektverantwortlichen in Sumatra. Er ist Vizepräsident der schweizerischen Fachkommission für die Belange des Washingtoner Artenschutzübereinkommens CITES.