back

Kaeng Krachan

Our Commitment

Cooperating closely with the Wildlife Conservation Society WCS, Zurich Zoo supports Kaeng Krachan National Park in Thailand as it protects the animals living there. At the heart of our commitment is the aim of defusing the conflict between humans and elephants. In addition to protective fences, which prevent the elephants intruding into populated areas, an information centre has been set up to make school classes and local visitors more aware of nature conservation. Additionally, we support the gamekeepers at Kaeng Krachan National Park in the fight against poachers by funding equipment and training courses.

conservation in practice

Covering an area of almost 3,000 square kilometres, Kaeng Krachan National Park is the largest conservation area in Thailand. Almost 200 wild elephants live in the park. Kaeng Krachan National Park and other conservation areas in the north incorporate the largest and most species-rich forest areas in the whole of South-East Asia. By setting up wild animal corridors in association with other conservation areas, the national park will help preserve the elephants' traditional migration routes over the long term and preserve tigers, gibbons, tapirs and other endangered animal and plant species.

Challenges

Asian elephants were originally distributed from Syria to China, as well as in Sri Lanka, Sumatra and Borneo. Today, the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) estimates that the survival of these elephants in the wild is critically endangered. In some regions of South-East Asia, the species is on the verge of extinction. In Thailand, the population in the wild is estimated at about 3,000 animals. Several factors exert pressure on the population levels. Not only are the bulls targeted by poachers because of their tusks, but the elephants’ habitat is fast disappearing due to logging and the expansion of agricultural cultivation.

Agriculture is destroying the traditional feeding grounds and migration routes of wild elephants in many places. The animals therefore cause severe damage to plantations, houses and cattle on their migrations. This leads to conflicts that can be significantly reduced by protective fences and sentry posts. Alarmed fences have been erected along the border of the national park. If the elephants break through these fences, a loud alarm sounds and the warning light flashes, and the sentry guards drive the elephants back into the forest. The limited length of the fence means that the animals can continue their migration after a detour. In some regions, conflicts have been reduced by up to 90%.

Alarmzaun zur Entschärfung des Human-Elephant-Conflicts
Protective fences help to significantly reduce conflicts between farmers and elephants.

A 75-kilometre migratory corridor has been designed to give the elephants from Kaeng Krachan National Park a safe route to conservation areas in northern Thailand. Zurich Zoo, in close cooperation with the Wildlife Conservation Society WCS, supports the park's gamekeepers in their fight against poachers, deforestation and illegal use of the land.

Ranger des Kaeng Krachan Nationalparks
Rangers work hard to protect Kaeng Krachan Nationalpark and it's wildlife.
Manoon Pliosungnoen, WCS Thailand
Manoon Pliosungnoen, WCS Thailand: Environmental Scientist Manoon Pliosungnoen has worked for the Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) Thailand since 2009 as a Project Manager in the Kaeng Krachan Forest Complex.
Dr. Martin Bauer, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich
Dr. Martin Bauert, Head Curator at Zoo Zürich: director of the Zoo Biology department and is in charge of nature conservation projects at Zoo Zürich. He maintains close communication links with those working on the project in Thailand. He is Vice President of the specialist Swiss commission for the interests of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

zurück

Kaeng Krachan

Unser Engagement

Der Zoo Zürich unterstützt den Kaeng Krachan Nationalpark in Thailand zum Schutz der dort lebenden Elefanten in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Wildlife Conservation Society WCS. Im Zentrum des Engagements steht die Entschärfung des Konflikts zwischen Menschen und Elefanten. Nebst Schutzzäunen, die verhindern, dass die Elefanten in bewohnte Gebiete dringen, wurde ein Informationszentrum errichtet, in dem Schulklassen und die Bevölkerung für den Naturschutz sensibilisiert werden. Zudem unterstützt der Zoo Zürich die Wildhüter des Kaeng Krachan Nationalparks im Kampf gegen die Wilderei, indem er Ausrüstung und Ausbildungskurse finanziert.

Naturschutz Konkret

Mit fast 3000 Quadratkilometern Fläche ist der Kaeng Krachan Nationalpark das grösste Schutzgebiet in Thailand. In ihm leben rund 200 wilde Elefanten. Der Kaeng Krachan Nationalpark und weitere Schutzgebiete im Norden umfassen die grössten und artenreichsten Waldgebiete im ganzen südostasiatischen Raum. Hier soll mit der Errichtung von Wildtierkorridoren im Verbund mit den anderen Schutzgebieten die traditionellen Wanderrouten der Elefanten langfristig geschützt werden sowie Tiger, Gibbons, Tapire und andere bedrohte Tier- und Pflanzenarten erhalten werden.

Herausforderungen

Das Verbreitungsgebiet des Asiatischen Elefanten erstreckte sich ursprünglich von Syrien bis nach China, eingeschlossen Sri Lanka, Sumatra und Borneo. Heutzutage beurteilt die Internationale Welt-Naturschutzunion IUCN den Fortbestand dieser Elefanten in der Wildnis als stark gefährdet. In Südostasien steht diese Tierart in manchen Regionen vor dem Aussterben. In Thailand wird der Bestand in der Wildnis noch auf rund 3000 Tiere geschätzt. Mehrere Faktoren üben Druck auf die Bestände aus. Einerseits gelangen Bullen wegen der Stosszähne ins Visier der Wilderer. Andererseits geht der Lebensraum der Elefanten durch Rodungen und die Ausdehnung der landwirtschaftlichen Kulturen zusehends verloren.

Die traditionellen Futterplätze und Wanderrouten wilder Elefanten werden vielerorts durch die Landwirtschaft zerstört. So richten die Tiere auf ihren Wanderungen grosse Schäden an Plantagen, Häusern oder Vieh an. Dies erzeugt Konflikte, welche mit Schutzzäunen und Wachposten sehr stark gemindert werden. Hierzu werden entlang der Nationalparkgrenze Alarmzäune errichtet. Durchbrechen Elefanten diese Alarmzäune, ertönt ein lauter Alarm mit Lichtsignal. Die Wachposten treiben dann die Elefanten in den Wald zurück. Die begrenzte Zaunlänge erlaubt den Tieren nach einer Umleitung, ihre Wanderung trotzdem fortzusetzen. So wurden die Konflikte in einigen Regionen um bis zu 90 Prozent reduziert.

Alarmzaun zur Entschärfung des Human-Elephant-Conflicts
Alarmzaun: Elefanten verlassen vor allem nachts die Wälder, um auf Feldern Ananas, Bananen und andere Früchte zu fressen. Licht- und Alarmsignale «entlarven» Tiere, die den Zaun auf dem Weg zum Feld durchbrechen. Geweckt vom Lärm treibt der Bauer oder Ranger die Elefanten mit Feuerwerk zurück in die Wildnis; Ernte und Elefanten bleiben dabei unversehrt.

Ein geplanter, 75 Kilometer langer Wanderkorridor soll den Elefanten aus dem Kaeng Krachan Nationalpark eine sichere Wanderung in die im Norden gelegenen Schutzgebiete des Western Forest Complex ermöglichen. Der Zoo Zürich unterstützt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Wildlife Conservation Society WCS die Wildhüter des Kaeng Krachan Nationalparks im Kampf gegen die Wilderei, die Abholzung und die illegale Landnutzung.

Ranger des Kaeng Krachan Nationalparks
Ranger patrouillieren regelmässig im Nationalpark zur Bekämpfung der illegalen Jagd.
Manoon Pliosungnoen, WCS Thailand
Manoon Pliosungnoen, WCS Thailand: Der Umweltwissenschaftler Manoon Pliosungnoen arbeitet seit 2009 für die Wildlife Conservation Society WCS Thailand als Projektmanager im Kaeng Krachan Forest Complex.
Dr. Martin Bauer, Leitender Kurator Zoo Zürich
Dr. Martin Bauert, Leitender Kurator Zoo Zürich: Führt die Abteilung Zoobiologie und ist hauptverantwortlich für die Naturschutzprojekte des Zoo Zürich. Er pflegt einen engen Austausch mit den Projektverantwortlichen in Thailand. Er ist Vizepräsident der schweizerischen Fachkommission für die Belange des Washingtoner Artenschutzübereinkommens CITES.