back

Australian Ark

OUR COMMITMENT

Zoo Zurich is committed to the protection of the Tasmanian devil. Nowadays, the animal lives only in breeding centres and zoos on the Australian mainland. Zoo Zurich supports the Tasmanian devil breeding programme at its Australian conservation partner Australian Reptile Park.

The Tasmanian devil is a representative of the dasyuridae family. The animal lives alone in abandoned ground ditches or caves, and forages for food at night. They hunt but mostly they prefer to feed on carrion. They devour the whole of the animal, including its fur. Their diet includes small mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. Their weight reaching eight kilos, the Tasmanian devil is the largest carnivorous marsupial in Australia.

CONSERVATION IN PRACTICE

Every year Zoo Zürich makes a substantial financial contribution to the conservation of the Tasmanian devil. In addition to the Tasmanian devil, five more endangered marsupial species are bred at the Australian Ark breeding centre: Brown Bandicoot, Eastern quoll, Eastern bettong, Long-nosed Potoroo and Parma wallaby. The aim of the breeding effort is to re-introduce the species into the wild in the long-term.

CHALLENGES

Tasmanian devils are only found in Tasmania nowadays. In mainland Australia, they are extinct. The animal has been protected since 1941.

In 1996, a new type of cancer spreading among wild Tasmanian devils was identified. It affects the animal’s face. The tumours grow and prevent the animals from feeding normally. In later stages of the disease, after about a year, the animals starve to death. The cancer is spreading rapidly. In some areas of Tasmania, the wild population has completely collapsed. It is assumed that cancer cells are transmitted within the population through infected saliva. It usually happens during fights over food or females, when the animals bite each other.

The Australian Ark is a 500-hectare breeding station, located 1,400 metres above sea level in the Barrington Tops Mountains. In this area, the Tasmanian devil has been extinct for 3,000 years. The climate and the terrain are perfect. This station has been operating since 2011, and the breeding programme has so far been a success. In addition to two breeding stations in Tasmania, several zoos in mainland Australia are also taking part in the programme.

Junger Beutelteufel.
90% of the wild Tasmanian devils have disappeared. The breeding programme is their last chance.
Tim Faulkner, Leiter Australian Reptile Park.
Tim Faulkner, Director Australian Reptile Park: Tim Faulkner is the director of the Australian Reptile Park near Sydney. He also manages the breeding centre to save the Tasmanian devil. Tim Faulkner was nominated Naturalist of the Year in 2015 by the Australian Geographic Society.
Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, Zoo Zürich.
Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, Curator Zoo Zurich: Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, a biologist specialising in primates, is a curator of Zoo Zurich and manages the Great Apes & Australia exhibits and is responsible for the Australian Ark conservation project.

zurück

Australian Ark

Unser Engagement

Der Zoo Zürich engagiert sich für den Schutz des Beutelteufels, der auch Tasmanischer Teufel genannt wird. Auf dem australischen Festland lebt er heute nur noch in Zuchtzentren und Zoos. Der Zoo Zürich unterstützt die Zucht des Beutelteufels des australischen Naturschutzpartners Australian Reptile Park.

Der Beutelteufel ist ein Vertreter der Familie der Raubbeutler. Er lebt als Einzelgänger in verlassenen Erdlöchern oder Höhlen und geht nachts auf Futtersuche. Er jagt zwar auch, doch am liebsten frisst er Aas. Dabei verschlingt er das ganze Tier, sogar das Fell. Sein Nahrungsspektrum umfasst kleine Säugetiere, Vögel, Reptilien und Amphibien. Mit acht Kilogramm Körpergewicht ist der Beutelteufel das grösste fleischfressende Beuteltier Australiens.

Naturschutz KOnkret

Der Zoo Zürich beteiligt sich alljährlich mit einem namhaften finanziellen Beitrag am Arterhaltungsprojekt des Beutelteufels. Neben dem Beutelteufel werden im Zuchtzentrum Australian Ark noch weitere fünf gefährdete Beuteltierarten gezüchtet: Kurznasenbeutler, Tüpfelbeutelmarder, Tasmanien-Bürstenrattenkänguru, Langschnauzen-Kaninchenkänguru und Parmawallaby. Ziel aller Zuchtbemühungen ist es, die Tiere längerfristig wieder auszuwildern.

Herausforderungen

Beutelteufel kommen heutzutage nur noch auf Tasmanien vor. Auf dem Festland Australiens sind sie ausgestorben. Seit 1941 steht der Beutelteufel unter Schutz.

Erstmals 1996 wurde eine neuartige Krebserkrankung bei einem freilebenden Beutelteufel festgestellt. Die Krankheit befällt das Gesicht der Tiere. Die Tumore wachsen und behindern die Tiere beim Fressen. Im Spätstadium der Krankheit, nach rund einem Jahr, verhungern sie. Die Krankheit breitet sich rasend schnell aus. In manchen Gegenden Tasmaniens ist die Population völlig zusammengebrochen. Man vermutet, dass die Krebszellen durch den Speichel auf andere Artgenossen übertragen werden. Dies geschieht meist bei Streitereien rund ums Futter oder bei der Paarung, wenn sich die Tiere gegenseitig beissen.

Australian Ark ist ein 500 Hektaren grosses Zuchtzentrum, das auf 1400 Metern über Meer in den Bergen der Barrington Tops liegt. In dieser Gegend ist der Beutelteufel vor 3000 Jahren ausgestorben. Das Klima und die Landschaft sind ideal. Seit 2011 ist diese Anlage in Betrieb und die Zucht bereits erfolgreich. Neben zwei Zuchtanlagen auf Tasmanien beteiligen sich auch verschiedene Zoos auf dem australischen Festland am Programm.

Junger Beutelteufel.
90% der wilden Beutelteufel sind verschwunden. Die Zucht ist ihre einzige Rettung.

Tim Faulkner, Leiter Australian Reptile Park.
Tim Faulkner, Leiter Australian Reptile Park: Tim Faulkner ist Leiter des Australian Reptile Parks nahe bei Sydney. Zudem leitet er das Zuchtzentrum zur Rettung des Beutelteufels. Tim Faulkner ist 2015 von der Australian Geographic Society zum Naturschützer des Jahres ernannt worden.
Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, Zoo Zürich.
Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, Kuratorin Zoo Zürich: Dr. Claudia Rudolf von Rohr, Biologin mit Schwerpunkt Primaten, führt als Kuratorin des Zoo Zürich die Abteilung Menschenaffen & Australien und ist verantwortlich für das Naturschutzprojekt Australian Ark.